New ITIL framework and certification



Certification according to ITIL 4 has been restructured. Not only is Axelos the central player in all certification projects, it has centrally marketed ITIL 4 training courses since 2014. According to ITIL 4, only individuals, not organizations, can be certified. The company also accredits and certifies accredited training organizations (ATOs), of which there are a number in each country [2]. Certification exams are usually taken at these ATOs, and they must be accredited with examining institutions, which also issue the certificates for the participants of the ITIL 4 certification courses at the ATOs. The examining institutions must also obtain accreditation from Axelos.

The certification scheme for ITIL 4 has changed compared with version 3. ITIL 3 had four consecutive stages: Foundation, Intermediate (advanced), Expert, and Master. The latter presupposes practical experience in service management and an Expert certificate, which is based on the two-day basic ITIL Foundation course plus five special courses divided into two streams: management practices and a stream with a more strategic focus. Both streams include the special course Direct, Plan, and Improve . The management stream also includes the special courses Create, Deliver, and Support ; Drive Customer Value ; and High Velocity IT . A successful graduate of all courses mentioned can advertise as an ITIL Management Professional (ITIL MP).

Cross-Upgrade from ITIL 3

The strategic branch comprises the Direct, Plan, and Improve and Digital and IT Strategy modules. After successfully completing both, a graduate can refer to themselves as an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL). For ITIL 3 graduates who want to cross-upgrade, ITIL 3 certificate holders who have earned at least 17 credits in ITIL 3 training courses can enter the special ITIL Managing Professional stream of four modules to transition to the ITIL 4 certification path. The transition course will be available for about one year. However, because of the large amount of new content, ITIL 3 graduates are also advised to attend the ITIL 4 basic training course.


The ITIL 4 management framework has taken the urgently needed leap into the cloud and DevOps future, enabling companies to continue to use their ITIL know-how and adapt it to their changing infrastructures.

Buy this article as PDF

Express-Checkout as PDF
Price $2.95
(incl. VAT)

Buy ADMIN Magazine

Get it on Google Play

US / Canada

Get it on Google Play

UK / Australia

Related content

comments powered by Disqus
Subscribe to our ADMIN Newsletters
Subscribe to our Linux Newsletters
Find Linux and Open Source Jobs

Support Our Work

ADMIN content is made possible with support from readers like you. Please consider contributing when you've found an article to be beneficial.

Learn More”>


		<div class=